Realized between 1853 and 1870, Franz Josef Gallery was built to make surface salt transport easier and cheaper. Formerly, salt was transported here, first in bags placed on horseback, then, starting with the end of the 19th century, with the help of wagons towed by horses.
After the cessation of the exploitation, Turda Salt Mine became an air raid shelter for the city’s population during the Second World War and later, between 1948 and 1992, a section of Franz Joseph Gallery was used as cheese warehouse.
Entrance to the Franz Josef Gallery, 1907
At its completion, Franz Josef Gallery was 780 m, but by the end of the nineteenth century it was extended by another 137 m, reaching 917 m.
The first 529 meters, or 280 fathoms of the gallery, as it used to be said (1 fathom = 1.89 m), cross brown-clay rocks, which is why this section was supported by 40-cm-thick stonemasonry. On the left wall of the gallery, there are pegs (stone plates), with an equidistance of 10 fathoms, to measure the length of the underground galleries.
Franz Josef Gallery, the salt portion
Experience the show and the magic of Turda Salt Mine faster with the online ticket.
Dragii noștri turiști,
Vă anunțăm cu bucurie că în perioada 7 - 18 Aprilie 2023, Salina Turda va fi deschisă în program prelungit.
Vă așteptăm așadar zilnic (chiar și de Paști), între orele 09.00 - 18.00, cu ultima intrare în mină la ora 17.00!
Petreceți vacanța de primăvară alături de noi!